Pages

Friday, 1 January 2016

MY CHILDRENS BOOK REVIEW COLUMN IN THE SOUTH WALES EVENING POST JAN 2ND.

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW COLUMN IN THE SOUTH WALES EVENING POST JAN 2ND. 

This week I feature a magical polar bear in a magical ice land, a mountain bear showing his cub his twilight world, a visual diary for artists and and gripping thriller that will set your heart racing. 


BOOK OF THE WEEK


NORTH CHILD BY EDITH PATTOU
CHILDRENS 10+
An irresistible winters tale based on Scandinavian fairy tales and Beauty and The Beast. An epic adventure that takes Rose to an enchanted snow bound castle on the back of a white bear. Who is the stranger that appears to her nightly? The cast of magical characters and the stunning world building is spellbinding. A romantic adventure of true friendship that will sweep you off your feet.
ISBN: 9780746068373 PB Usborne Publishing £9.99
5/5 Stars


I LOVE YOU MORE AND MORE BY NICKY BENSON & ILLUSTRATED BY JONNY LAMBERT
PICTURE BOOK 2+
A gorgeously illustrated celebration of the eternal love and bond between a parent and child. Simple lyrical rhyming text set in a twilight world as a bear takes his cub on a journey of discovery through dense woodland, blue mountains and sparkling rivers. This makes a beautiful gift for the very young or new parent. Ideal for fans of Guess How Much I Love You.
ISBN:9781848692114 HB Little Tiger Press £10.99
5/5 Stars


DOODLE A DAY BY CHRIS RIDDELL
CHILDRENS 8+
Children's Laureate Chris Riddell is determined to encourage our creativity. This wonderful little book, in diary format, gives you the opportunity to doodle and colour every day for a year. A vast array of Riddell's drawings will help your imagination and be sure to delight and challenge. This inspiring book for aspiring artists and illustrators is a great present for all ages. 20p from each book sale goes to BookTrust.
ISBN: 9781509816439 PB Pan Macmillan £9.99
5/5 Stars


SURVIVOR BY TOM HOYLE
CHILDRENS 12+
Fast paced action packed thriller with a film like feel that will appeal to lovers of Cherub and Gone. It reminded me of the Lord of The Flies with its claustrophobic plot and the ruthless stripping away of the characters civilised persona’s. It will keep you guessing who is good or bad in this once in a lifetime trip in the Australian outback that turns into a nightmare. Nobody is safe and who can you trust?
ISBN 9781447286752 PB Pan Macmillan £6.99 4/5 Stars