Pages

Tuesday, 1 March 2016

My Top Ten Perfect Childrens Books for Mothers Day

Some lovely children's books for Mothers Day that can be shared between Mother and Child from a baby up.


1. I LOVE MY MUMMY : A BLOSSOMING BOOK OF GIVING BY JONATHAN LITTON AND FHIONA GALLOWAY
PICTURE BOOK 0+
The perfect little board book to give on Mothers Day to keep busy hands occupied. Bold illustrations, cutouts and finger holes will endure and fascinate the most energetic of children while Mum is enjoying her special day. The colourful cast of cute characters all want to find ways to say thankyou to their special Mum. The rhyming text will make sure this has a captive audience while parents enjoy a rare quiet moment.
  • ISBN: 9781848691773 HB Little Tiger Press Group £5.99
  • 4/5 Stars



2.GUESS HOW MUCH I LOVE YOU BY SAM MCBRATNEY
PICTURE BOOK 2+
This timeless classic recently celebrated its twentieth anniversary and has delighted generation after generation. The large format board book makes its sturdy enough to be passed down from little hands to little hands. Little and Big Nutbrown Hare love each other very much but how do they let each other know? Anita Jeram's enchanting illustrations capture the story's sentiment perfectly and makes it a lovely book to gift on International Book Giving Day on February 14th
ISBN: 9781406358780 HB Walker Books Ltd £ 6.99
5/5 Stars


3. SPOT LOVES HIS MUM BY ERIC HILL
PICTURE BOOK 2+
The perfect present for your little loved ones. This sturdy heart shaped board book is a playful addition to the popular series about everyone's favourite puppy. Spot loves spending time with his mum, Sally. Each spread shows Sally and Spot having fun together in this brightly coloured board book.
:ISBN: 9780723257479 Penguin Books Ltd £4.99
4/5 Stars

4. I LOVE YOU MORE AND MORE BY NICKY BENSON & ILLUSTRATED BY JONNY LAMBERT
PICTURE BOOK 2+
A gorgeously illustrated celebration of the eternal love and bond between a parent and child. Simple lyrical rhyming text set in a twilight world as a bear takes his cub on a journey of discovery through dense woodland, blue mountains and sparkling rivers. This makes a beautiful gift for the very young or new parent. Ideal for fans of Guess How Much I Love You.
ISBN:9781848692114 HB Little Tiger Press £10.99
5/5 Stars



5. DO YOU REMEMBER? BY HELEN DOCHERTY

PICTURE BOOK 3+

A wonderful book that will spark special memories between parent and child. Enhanced with endearing illustrations by Mark Beech this would make a lovely birthday or Mothers Day gift. With its universal message, there's no such word as can't, it will really help overcome struggles to learn new skills. Whether it's the first time talking, walking or dressing this is a delightful way to start discussion about a young ones achievements and build their confidence.
ISBN: 9780571321148 PB  Faber & Faber £6.99
5/5 STARS

6. LITTLE WHY BY JONNY LAMBERT
PICTURE BOOK 3+
I adore Little Why with his fearless spirit and boundless curiosity as he discovers the world around him. Lambert has imbued this adorable baby elephant with real character. It also carries two great messages throughout. One is to be happy in your own skin as the grass isn't always greener on the other side. Also why its dangerous to wander off on your own especially with crocodiles about!
    ISBN: 9781848691834 PB Little Tiger Press Group £6.99
5/5 Stars

7. LITTLE ONE BY JO WEAVER
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A touching story of discovery shown through changing seasons. Soft charcoal illustrations perfectly capture a mummy bear as she introduces her cub to life in the wild. The simple text gives room for the reader to elaborate on the story and add their own observations. The panoramic scenes really give a sense of the true vastness of nature and a sense of our smallness which little ones will relate to.
ISBN: 9781444922738 HB  Hodder Childrens £11.99
5/5 Stars


8. A Great Big Cuddle by Michael Rosen Illustrated by Chris Riddell
CHILDRENS 5+
Two giants of children’s literature have joined forces to create a magical anthology of poetry for the very young. In a perfect introduction to poetry Rosen starts with a cornucopia of tongue twisters and nonsense rhymes and ends with soothing verses to send even the most energetic child off to sleep. Paired with Riddell's bold and beautiful illustrations you will have lots of fun reading this out loud. A great present for all occasions.
  • ISBN:9781406343199 Walker Books HB £14.99
  • 5/5 Stars



9. CHILDRENS COOKIE AND CAKE BAKING KIT BY ABIGAIL WHEATLEY
CHILDRENS 5+
This wonderful cooking kit will encourage absolute beginners to bake yummy cookies and biscuits. Everything you need is here including 25 simple to follow recipes, cookie cutters and a rolling pin. You can keep everything in a pretty gift box and is a lovely introduction to cooking that can be done with mum (or dad!) with something to nibble at the end from gingerbreads to heart biscuits. Delicious 
ISBN: 9781409598763 HB Usborne Publishing Ltd £ 14.99 
5/5 stars



10.LITTLE WOMEN BY L.M. ALCOTT
CHILDRENS 8+ 
This inspirational colour illustrated American classic makes a lovely gift between mothers and daughters. Set against the American Civil War Marmee and her five daughters resiliently struggle with poverty, first love and following their dreams. In an age where women's options were limited this heart warming tale really shows women in all their strengths. Jo, the aspiring writer has always been one of my favourite fictional characters as well as her Professor Bear!
    ISBN: 9781409581987 HB Usborne Publishing Ltd £12.99
5/5 Stars