Pages

Monday, 9 February 2015

Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas



Synopsis

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien's only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan's Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King's Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan's biggest threat - and his own toughest enemy.
While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?
This third novel in the Throne of Glass sequence, from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, is packed with more heart-stopping action, devastating drama and swoonsome romance, and introduces some fierce new heroines to love and hate. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones.

My Musings


Maas throws her fans a real curve ball when the book starts with Celaena in another country, alone and surrounded by strangers. It is assumed we remember exactly what happened in the last book (read 9 months ago) so we're just to carry on the story with no helpful reminders. Clearly my memory is not that good as I was a little lost especially with such an array of new characters to contend with. If I hadn't loved the last two books so much I may have given up. DON'T DO THAT!

The plot soon falls into place and new and old characters collide. Celaena's current dire situation of being exiled from court with magical powers she can't control is made worse with the introduction of Rowan. The warrior fairy prince whose job is to begrudgingly train Celaena so she can meet her aunt, The Fairy Queen and get some answers about her past. I LOVE Rowan's character and the whole love/hate relationship between them both. Their relationship is brutal and painful. Two warriors who's loathing slowly melts into a true friendship and maybe more. Their journey is spellbinding and heart wrenching and I fervently hope Maas has not put Rowan in there as a red herring, he's just too good a character. But her relationship with Chaol ( who seemed to mope throughout the book) is unresolved while Dorian just continues to grow in stature.

The story becomes more focused while flitting back to Dorian and Chaol who seems to have faded into insignificance and becomes less attractive as opposed to the other new additions like Aedion, Celaena's cousin, definately adding a bit of spice.

An additional story of a group of evil witches focusing on a young witch called Mab peppers the book. I assume that she will be significant to the destiny of Celaena as Maas clearly wants us to know her history but I found it irritating as if I was reading a mini book inside the main story. I skimmed parts just to get back to Celaena and Rowan.

The end of the book finishes on a traumatic knife edge.(NO SPOILERS) Characters are split and their destiny is unknown. I can't wait for the fourth book but hope the Maas takes pity on her readers and gives us a tiny overview or what went before in the beginning of the next after waiting a year for it to come out.

Especiall as Maas is writing a brand new older fantasy series which could mean the gap between books gets even wider. Even though this book started with a bit of a hiccup, it was minor and continues to be an AMAZING and ADDICTIVE series. Role on September for Queen of Shadows.......

If you like this read my book review for Sarah J Maas second book in the series 
Crown of Thornes