Pages

Saturday, 5 December 2015

Childrens Book Review column in The South Wales Evening Post Dec 5th featuring lovely christmas presents for children

A selection of books for The South Wales Evening Post for Dec 5th. My book of the week is one of the fantastic Ella Bella ballet picture books, not surprisingly, focusing on The Nutcracker!! Also this week I picked a wonderful drawing and colouring book for all budding artists of all ages,   a story about Santa as a young boy and a great romance for the young adult market. All lovely presents for Christmas.


BOOK OF THE WEEK


ELLA BELLA BALLERINA AND THE NUTCRACKER BY JAMES MAYHEW
CHILDRENS 4+
The perfect introduction to a festive favourite and a treasure for little prima ballerinas everywhere. This is one of a delightful series, written and illustrated enchantingly by Mayhew, that explains famous ballets through a a young dancer, Ella Bella. This time she twirls into a magical world of dancing snowflakes and the Sugar Plum Fairy. Some great ballet facts are at the end, especially useful if any kids are going to see the ballet on stage.
ISBN: 9781408314081 PB Hachette Children's Group £6.99
5/5 stars

CHILDRENS ACTIVITY 5+



DRAW IT! COLOUR IT! CREATURES BY VARIOUS ARTISTS

A unique opportunity for budding artists of all ages to draw and colour with a collection of top children’s illustrators. The theme is creatures, featuring every animal imagined which you can complete or colour in. A brilliant idea and an ideal present for those with a creative gift as it will be sure to keep them very busy through the holidays. This will appeal to all levels and ages with wonderful and varied art work.
ISBN: 9781447290704 PB Pan Macmillan £10
5/5 Stars

CHILDRENS BOOK 8+

A BOY CALLED CHRISTMAS BY MATT HAIG

Have you ever wondered what Father Christmas was like as a young boy? Your wait is over! A modern day classic with adventure, snow, elves and an eleven year old boy called Nikolas who believes in magic. For fans of Dahl and Walliams this will add festive cheer to the whole family. The message it delivers is that being good is better than being rich. Special mention for the imaginative illustrations by Chris Mould
ISBN: 9781782117896 HB Canongate Books Ltd £12.99
5/5 Stars
YOUNG ADULT FICTION 13+

TO ALL THE BOYS I'VE LOVED BEFORE BY JENNY HAN

Lara has sent out love letters to five of her old crushes by mistake. How will they react? Especially when one is her sister's boyfriend. A novel about the pitfalls of first love, sisterly rivalry and coming of age. Combines the family dynamic of Little Women with the romance of films, Pretty in Pink and Ten Things I Hate About You. Engaging and heart warming for lovers of Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins.
ISBN: 9781407149073 PB Scholastic £6.99

5/5 stars