Pages

Sunday, 20 December 2015

Top Ten Christmas Books for Middle Grade Children and Young Readers

1. A BOY CALLED CHRISTMAS BY MATT HAIG
CHILDRENS 8+

Have you ever wondered what Father Christmas was like as a young boy? Your wait is over! A modern day classic with adventure, snow, elves and an eleven year old boy called Nikolas who believes in magic. For fans of Dahl and Walliams this will add festive cheer to the whole family. The message it delivers is that being good is better than being rich. Special mention for the imaginative illustrations by Chris Mould
ISBN: 9781782117896 HB Canongate Books Ltd £12.99
5/5 Stars

2. PUGS OF THE FROZEN NORTH BY PHILIP REEVE
CHILDRENS 7+

The Race to the Top of the World! It comes around once in a lifetime, and the prize? Your heart's desire. Shen and Sika can't resist the chance to win, but competition is fierce.
The path to victory is littered with snow trolls, sea monsters, and a gang of particularly hungry yetis.
But Shen and Sika have something the other contestants don't have.
Actually, they have 66 other things; pugs to be exact.
That's a 264 paw-powered sled. Let the race begin! This beautifully illustrated story by the award-winning team of Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre will enchant fans of their previous books, 'Oliver and the Seawigs' and 'Cakes in Space'.
  • ISBN: 9780192734570 HB Oxford University Press £8.99


3. ON A SNOWY NIGHT BY VARIOUS AUTHORS 
CHILDRENS 6+

A charming collection of animal winter tales by a selection of top childrens authors. Will the young Arctic foxes find food? Can a zebra help Santa? Perfect for little animal lovers everywhere and great for bedtime stories with its adorable illustrations. Also perfect for teachers to discuss in class and inspire creative writing stories before Christmas. Fascinating facts also in the back.
ISBN: 9781847156426 PB Little Tiger Press £5.99

4.THE STORM LEOPARDS BY HOLLY WEBB 
CHILDREN 7+

From best-selling author Holly Webb comes a charming wintery story just in time for Christmas. The countdown to Christmas has begun, and Isabelle is enjoying a family day out at the zoo. As her sister watches the penguins, Isabelle is the only one to catch a glimpse of a snow leopard, with its beautiful spotted silver-grey coat and long fluffy tail.
 Fascinated by these rare and endangered creatures, Isabelle tries to find out what she can do to help protect them. Little does she know she's about to be whisked into her very own magical snow leopard adventure, where a mother and her cubs are in danger... 
  • ISBN: 9781847156075 HB  Little Tiger Press Group £8.99


5.THE ABOMINABLES BY EVA IBBOTSON
CHILDRENS 7+



CHILDREN 8+

A hundred years ago, in the Himalayan peaks of Nanvi Dar, the daughter of an English earl is kidnapped by a huge hairy monster. In a secret valley Agatha Farley is introduced to a family of motherless yetis and devotes her life to their upbringing. She teaches them to speak, tells them stories and insists on polite manners.
But as the decades pass, tourists come to the mountains, a hotel is built and yeti-hunters arrive. Agatha knows that there is one place in the world where they would be protected - her ancestral home at Farley Towers. When a boy and his sister stumble upon her hidden valley, she knows she has found the courageous people who will carry out her plan.
The excited yetis are smuggled into the bridal suite at the hotel.
A freezer lorry is waiting to put them into semi-hibernation on the long trip home. But the baby yak that has fallen in love with the youngest yeti foils the refrigeration plan and they set off on a hugely entertaining road trip half way across the world.
In the Sultan of Aslerfan's kingdom the yetis release all the animals from his zoo. In the Alps they rescue a lost child in a blizzard.
In Spain, the yak creates chaos at a bullfight. But when they arrive in England, a terrible shock awaits them at Farley Towers...This early novel, never submitted for publication, contains all the trademark qualities that made Eva's subsequent books so successful; comedy, loveable and eccentric characters, perfectly-crafted plotting, and inspiring themes of tolerance, kindness to animals, and the defeat of cruelty.
  • ISBN: 9781407133027 PB Scholastic £6.99


6.THE ENCHANTED SNOW PONY BY SARAH KILBRIDE
CHILDRENS 5+


Join Evie and Silver on a wintry adventure to see the Northern Lights at the Mid-Winter Ball.
There's so much to do before the Ball - sledging, making magical snow dresses and catching up with old friends.
Can Evie and her friends make it to the Ball and rescue one of the Queen's fairies on their way?
Turn to the back for pony facts and activities. With a free poster too!
  • ISBN: 9781471121821 PB Publisher: Simon & Schuster £4.99

7.THE SNOW BEAST BY CHRIS JUDGE
CHILDRENS 5+


Beast has been robbed! And so has the whole village. Without tools the villagers can't put on their legendary Winter Festival, so Beast sets off to solve the mystery.
Discovering that a stranded Snow Beast is behind the robbery, Beast has to decide whether to help this odd-looking stranger
  • ISBN: 9781783441143 HB Andersen Press Ltd £11.99

8.THE BRAMBLY HEDGE COMPLETE COLLECTION
CHILDRENS 5+

Celebrate the 35th anniversary of Brambly Hedge with this exquisite slipcased volume containing all eight well-loved, classic picture books.
The mice of Brambly Hedge made their first appearance in 1980 when the four seasonal stories were published.
Ever since, readers have loved exploring the miniature world of the hedgerow and meeting the families that live there.
In this collection the mice have many adventures, but they always have time for fun and relaxation too.
Whatever the season, and whether they are by the sea, in the High Hills, or simply at home by the fire, there is always someone ready to lend a helping hand.
Contains: Spring Story, Summer Story, Autumn Story, Winter Story, Poppy's Babies, Sea Story, The High Hills, The Secret Staircase
  • ISBN: 9780008147815 HB HarperCollins Publishers £35

NB. ALSO AVAILABLE ARE THE INDIVIDUAL STORIES SUCH AS OUT THIS YEAR IS THE BRAMBLY HEDGE COLLECTION CELEBRATING ITS 35TH ANNIVERSARY  WHICH CONTAINS ALL THE STORIES OF THIS DELIGHTFUL COLLECTION. 
  • ISBN:9780001837119  £7.99. WHICH ALSO MAKES A WONDERFUL GIFT AND STOCKING FILLER. 
  • I FOUND THESE ILLUSTRATIONS MAGICAL AS  A CHILD AND STILL DO NOW. 

9.SQUISHY MCFLUFF SECRET SANTA BY PIP JONES
CHILDRENS 5+

Ava and Squishy are back and this time their adorable chaos hits Christmas preparations for Mum, Dad, baby Roo, the local Christmas fete and much, much more...In her letter to Santa, Ava only has one wish.
Will she get what her heart desires on Christmas day?
Rising star Pip Jones continues to give her quirky twist to everyday experiences in this warm and humorous series.
The jaunty rhyming text is perfect for reading aloud, and Ella Okstad's gorgeous, distinctive illustrations will help more confident readers learn to read by themselves for the first time.
  • ISBN: 9780571302567 PB Faber & Faber £5.99

10.OLD BEAR'S BEDTIME STORIES BY JANE HISSEY
CHILDRENS 3+ 

A new picture book to treasure featuring beloved characters from the Old Bear series. The endearing illustrations will continue to enchant a new generation of children. Gentle soothing stories full of delightful adventures, old friends, theatre, the seaside and a circus make it the perfect book to share with little ones before they go off to the land of dreams. A beautiful present suitable all the year round from Christmas to Birthdays and Christenings.
NB. THIS HAS A MIX OF LEVELS FOR READING FROM SIMPLE POEMS TO LONGER STORIES SUITABLE FOR UP TO 5 OR 6+ WHICH IS WHY I ALSO WANTED TO ADD IT TO THIS LIST!!
ISBN:9781910706152 HB Salariya Book Company Ltd