Pages

Saturday, 5 November 2016

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDRENS BOOK REVIEW COLUMN NOV 5TH-6TH

 My picks for my childrens book review column this week include a snow bound fable of love, a treasury of animals, a compendium of fascinating worldly facts and a deliciously naughty chocolate plot. My review is in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!

ALL BOOKS AVAILABLE AT YOUR LOCAL BOOKSELLER OR IF YOU WISH TO SUPPORT INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOPS ONLINE CLICK THE TITLE TO GO TO WWW.HIVE.CO.UK

BOOK OF THE WEEK



RAVEN CHILD AND THE SNOW WITCH BY LINDA SUNDERLAND
PICTURE BOOK 4+
A fairytale of a close knit family who live in the shadow of an icy glacier, home of the Snow Witch. When Anya's mother is stolen by the Witch she must make the treacherous journey to save her with the help from an injured raven and an Arctic fox. Dramatic and striking artwork by talented artist Daniel Egneus captures the poignant and magical story of a determined child who will do anything to keep her family together. Enchanting.
ISBN 9781783704194 PB Templar Publishing £7.99





A FIRST BOOK OF ANIMALS BY NICOLA DAVIES AND PETRA HORACEK
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A celebration of the amazing and enormous variety in the animal kingdom. This sumptuous volume brings to life its true wonders through the lyrical text of Nicola Davies and atmospheric illustrations of Petra Horacek. From the whale shark to the tiny hummingbird, the speeding cheetah to the languorous sloth this is an absolute delight for little animal lovers. A book to treasure and inspire a new generation to hopefully protect and conserve these amazing creatures.
ISBN 9781406359633 HB Walker Books £14.99




HIGHEST MOUNTAIN DEEPEST OCEAN BY PAGE TSOU
CHILDRENS BOOK 6+
A visual feast of a compendium that will open your eyes to the extraordinary world we live in. Do you know which is the longest living animal? The oldest tree? The biggest storm? Discover all the answers in this fascinating large format book of visual comparisons with beautifully detailed illustrations that have a vintage and contemporary flavour. For fans of Animalium, Maps and future David Attenboroughs! Indulge your curiosity.
ISBN 9781783704842 HB Big Picture Press £14.99





THE GREAT CHOCOPLOT BY CHRIS CALLAGHAN
CHILDRENS 8+
The chocopocalypse has arrived and soon there will be no chocolate in the world! Following a trail of clues will Jelly and her Gran uncover a fiendish plot that could deprive the nation of their favourite treat and avert disaster? Or will the villain, Garibaldi leave them with a bitter taste in the mouth? This wonderful Roald Dahlian adventure presents an assortment box of hilarious and eccentric characters that will be devoured by little chocolate lovers everywhere.
ISBN 9781910002513 PB Chicken House £6.99


ALL BOOKS AVAILABLE AT YOUR LOCAL BOOKSELLER OR IF YOU WISH TO SUPPORT INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOPS ONLINE ALSO GO TO WWW.HIVE.CO.UK