Pages

Saturday, 19 November 2016

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDRENS BOOK REVIEW NOVEMBER 19-20

This week in my childrens book review column I have picked a book of Christmas cards to make your own and great for creative kids, a picture book about a turtle in a dilemma, a mystery that only a young Sherlock Holmes can solve and an epic fantasy for fans of Harry Potter and Narnia. 


BOOK OF THE WEEK


THE COLOURING BOOK OF CARDS AND ENVELOPES: CHRISTMAS BY REBECCA JONES
CHILDRENS 7+
One of a great colouring and craft book series in association with The National Trust. The twenty four Christmas cards, envelopes and stickers are decorated with festive scenes including snowmen and robins ready for you to personalise with your own colours. There is also a companion book of Christmas gift boxes, including three recipes for ginger bread, peppermints and truffles that you can make and fill when assembled. Perfect holiday fun for the whole family.
ISBN9780857637260 PB Nosy Crow £9.99



WE FOUND A HAT BY JON KLASSEN
PICTURE BOOK 3+
Two turtles find a hat in the desert. It looks good on both of them but which one should have it? A finely observed tale of friendship, sharing and generosity of spirit. Their shifting eyes say so much with so little you really feel the turtles emotions as one fights his need for the hat. A visual comedy in three parts will amuse with its deadpan humour. Really heart warming finale to the acclaimed hat trilogy. Quietly profound and very special.
ISBN 9781406347517 HB Walker Books £12.99



SHERLOCK HOLMES AND THE DISAPPEARING DIAMOND BY SAM HEARN
CHILDREN 7+
The first of the Baker Street Academy series this is perfect for Sherlock fans. Young Watson has arrived at a new school and is befriended by Martha Hudson and a certain Sherlock Holmes. When an infamous diamond goes missing on a school trip it's up to them to solve the crime. Or will bully Moriarty try to scupper their investigation? Told through cartoon strips, blog entries and detective notes this will have every super sleuth hooked and on the case!
ISBN 9781407161846 HB Scholastic £8.99




THE KINGS REVENGE BY PHILIP WOMACK
CHILDRENS 11+
The epic conclusion to The Darkening Path trilogy. Friends Simon and Flora must face one final challenge in the land of the Broken King. Failure means losing their siblings forever and never returning home. With shades of Greek myth, Arthurian legend and Grimms fairtyales this classic fantasy adventure with its myriad of colourful and magical characters will cast a spell over you. For fans of Harry Potter and C.S Lewis and appealing to boys and girls.
ISBN 9781909991309 PB Troika Books £6.99