Pages

Friday, 15 November 2019

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW NOV 16-17 2019

This week my children's book reviews include a mysterious middle grade adventure, an introduction to woodland life for the very young, an inspiring compilation of heroes or villains for middle grade readers and a dark fairy tale fantasy for teens. 


Also in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!



BOOK OF THE WEEK 

INVISIBLE IN A BRIGHT LIGHT BY SALLY GARDNER
CHILDREN 9+
In 1870 Celeste wakes up in the Royal Opera House to find everyone thinks she's someone else. To discover the truth and save those she loves, Celeste must play a dangerous game called the Reckoning. A dark and surreal fairy tale which reveals it's secrets one by one. Gorgeous and atmospheric descriptions of backstage bring the mystery and colourful cast to life. For fans of Amy Wilson and Abi Elphinstone.
Zephyr Books HB £10.99



GOODNIGHT FOREST BY CARMEN SALDANA & BECKY DAVIES
BOARD BOOK 1+
Peep through the forest in the soft dawn of light. Young children will be fascinated by how all the different animals and birds sleep and live. A fox hole is called a den. Owls hunt at night. Deers take short naps! Tiptoe through the undergrowth and explore the treetops in this beautifully illustrated board book with peep-through pages. Fun facts and rhyming text will delight little ones just before bedtime. Also available is Goodnight Ocean.
Little Tiger HB £7.99



EPIC TALES OF TRIUMPH AND ADVENTURE BY SIMON CHESHIRE & FATTI BURKE
CHILDREN 9+
Meet 66 exceptionally brave and inspiring men and women. Children will be fascinated by epic tales and triumphs and discoveries of heroes and villains. Dive into unexplored oceans with Jacques Piccard or sail them with pirate Anne Bonny. Climb Mount Everest with Junko Tabei or become a spy with Marthe Cnockaert. The double spreads with bold illustrations on each historical figure are perfect for dipping into. A vast collection to explore for little adventurers.
Bloomsbury HB £12.99



PET BY AKWAEKE EMEZI
YOUNG ADULT 12+
When Jam discovers a horned creature called Pet emerging from her mother's painting, she must help it chase away a monster in her best friend's house. A dark and lyrical modern-day fairytale about friendship and bravery. I loved the diverse cast of characters and the imaginative world where all is not what it appears. It also deals with sensitive and hard-hitting subjects about facing fears and the abuse of power. Thought-provoking and profound.
Faber PB £7.99

1 comment:

  1. My Name is Steve Jones from Canada, i turn to a vampire any time i want to, I become a real vampire because of how people treat me, This world is a wicked world and not fair to any body. At the snack of my finger things are made happened. Am now a powerful vampire and no one step on me without an apology goes free. I turn to human being also at any time i want to. And am one of the most dreaded and respected person in my country. i am now also very famous and rich with the help of the VAMPIRES EMPIRE. i get what ever a want. i become a vampire through the help of my friend who introduce me into a vampire Kingdom by given me their email: jamessuccessfultemple45@gmail.com, if you want to become a powerful and a real vampire kindly contact the vampire kingdom on their email: jamessuccessfultemple45@gmail.com for help. it is real. Contact them today. jamessuccessfultemple45@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete