Pages

Saturday, 9 April 2016

Childrens Book Review in The South Wales Evening Post April 9-10th


Find my Childrens Book Review Column in The South Wales Evening Post this weekend April 9-10th. This picks include an island castaway, a brave mouse, an adventurous tapir and a spy on a mission. 


BOOK OF THE WEEK

KENSUKE'S KINGDOM BY MICHAEL MORPURGO
CHILDRENS 9+
A retelling of Robinson Crusoe, this is one of my favourite Morpurgo stories. While sailing around the world with his parents Michael is washed over board with his dog and they find themselves on a deserted island. Or is it? Kensuke, a former Japanese soldier has chosen to live an isolated life after the horrors of the war but despite resistance they forge an unlikely bond that will change them both. A modern day classic adventure story.
ISBN: 9781405281799 PB Egmont UK £6.99
5/5 Stars



THE LION INSIDE BY RACHEL BRIGHT & JIM FIELD
PICTURE BOOK 3+
Mouse is fed up being ignored. Just because he is small and meek doesn't mean he is invisible. Is he brave enough to ask for help from the king of the jungle? It seems however that even the strongest of us have some weaknesses as well. A thoroughly entertaining story with a positive message about overcoming your fears. Also makes a great bedtime story for fans of the Gruffalo.
    ISBN: 9781408331606 PB Orchard Books £6.99
    5/5 Stars




MANGO & BAMBANG: TAPIR ALL AT SEA BY CLARA VULLIAMY
CHILDRENS 6+
Four classic tales featuring the adventures of a little girl Mango and her unusual friendship with a Malaysian Tapir called Bambang. Striking illustrations in black, grey and red just add to the sheer delight as Bambang tries dancing flamenco, escapes dangerous villains and finds out who really loves him the most. A great little gift with its striped hardback cover and red edged pages. For fans of Paddington and Milly-Molly-Mandy.
ISBN: 9781406361476 HB Walker Books Ltd £8.99
4/5 Stars




ENDGAME BY CHRIS RYAN
CHILDRENS 13+
A high octane thriller that will have your heart pumping. Teenage spy Zack Darke is in big trouble. His handler has been kidnapped and the only way to save the day is for him to knowingly walk into danger. Chris Ryan uses all his real life experience in the SAS to inject fast paced excitement and adventure. It feels like your in the middle of an action movie and is a great series for James Bond fans.
ISBN 9781849410120 PB Penguin Books £6.99

5/5 Stars