Pages

Friday, 6 May 2016

CHILDRENS BOOK REVIEW THE NOWHERE EMPORIUM BY ROSS MACKENZIE

NOWHERE EMPORIUM BY ROSS MACKENZIE
CHILDRENS 9+



SYNOPSIS
Winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award 2016 and the Scottish Children's Book Awards 2016.
When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident.
Before long, the 'shop from nowhere' -- and its owner, Mr Silver -- draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment. Recruited as Mr Silver's apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium's vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms -- rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined. But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble.
Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever?
Scottish Children's Book Award winner Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke and Neil Gaiman.
Winner of the 2015 NEBA (North East Book Award)
  • MY MUSINGS
  • A dazzling and magical adventure that will weave its spell over you.  Daniel, an orphan, on the run from bullies stumbles into a mysterious shop call The Nowhere Emporium with. 

  •  "The brickwork is as black as midnight and it sparkles strangely in the light." 

  • He just wants to hide but it seems the shop has other plans and needs Daniels help. The owner Mr Silver invites him to join the shape shifting, time travelling  emporium while he conjures up new rooms for the shop from his imagination for the delight of the customers. All they have to do is bring their imagination. Daniel also befriends Mr Silver's daughter and the marvelous eclectic mix of staff who work there.  Why can't they ever leave the shop? Why can only he go outside to explore with Mr Silver? 

  • As an evil magician, who has his own plans for the shop circles closer Silver disappears and Daniel must use all his imagination to save it. The description of the shop and the changing rooms are spellbinding drawing you into its maze of enchanted rooms. With an arch nemesis, friends to make and save this modern day classic will appeal to boys and girls of all ages its so seamlessly written.  Also great for Harry potter fans. 

  • The worthy winner of The Blue Peter Book Awards amongst others this will really inspire the imagination of all ages. A gem.

  • ISBN: 9781782501251PB Floris Books £6.99


I KINDLY RECEIVED A COPY OF THE NOWHERE EMPORIUM FROM HIVE IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. 

Hive.co.uk works hand in hand with independendent bookshops to bring you books, DVDs and ebooks. Free delivery to your local bookshop or direct to your door. Shop local, shop independent.