Pages

Saturday, 14 May 2016

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDRENS BOOK COLUMN May 14-15

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDRENS BOOK COLUMN May 14-15

This week my childrens books include the Queen going on a rip roaring adventure for her birthday weekend, a bear who finds a friend, a sea sick pug who goes on a seafaring adventure and a resistance fighter in Amsterdam pining for her lost love. 


BOOK OF THE WEEK

THE QUEENS HANDBAG BY STEVE ANTONY
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A sneaky swan has stolen the Queen's handbag! Follow her on an hilarious journey in various modes of transport around the UK, including Snowdonia and Stonehenge as she tries to catch the naughty bird. Encouraging interactivity with Antony's signature witty illustrations and lots of things to look for this is a great introduction to some of our wonderful monuments around our country. Can you spot Mr Panda, Mary Berry or an alien? A great conversation starter!ISBN: 9781444925548 PB  Hodder Childrens £6.99
5/5 Stars


ALBERT'S TREE BY JENNI DESMOND
PICTURE BOOK 3+
Albert can't understand why his favourite tree is crying. What can be the matter with it? Albert and his friends Rabbit, Caribou and Squirrel all try to help but when the cry gets louder they think maybe its a monster! Albert must be brave! A charming story about finding friends in unusual places accompanied with adorable and sensitive illustrations. Funny, warm and insightful, its perfect for reading out loud.
ISBN 9781406362473 HB Walker Books £11.99
4/5 Stars


CAPTAIN PUG BY LAURA JAMES
CHILDRENS 5+
Adventures of a pug trying to be brave and find his owner, Lady Miranda. Deciding the best way is to become a Captain of a ship he boards many different vessels while trying to overcome his fear of water and indulging in his passion for jam tarts!! A delightful sea faring adventure series for young readers that is charming, funny and a stand-out debut. Perfect for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff
  • ISBN: 9781408866368 PB Bloomsbury Publishing £5.99
5/5 Stars




GIRL IN THE BLUE COAT BY MONICA HESSE
YOUNG ADULT FICTION
In Amsterdam, 1943, Hanneke works secretly in the black market while mourning her boyfriend, killed on the front line. When a customer asks her to find a Jewish girl she's been hiding things become a lot more dangerous. An intricately woven thriller full of suspense that will have your heart racing and breaking at the same time. Well researched you gain real insight into what it truly meant to be part of the resistance and the cost.
ISBN: 9781447295013 PB Pan Macmillan £7.99

5/5 Stars