Pages

Saturday, 4 June 2016

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDRENS BOOK COLUMN JUNE 4TH - 5TH

My childrens books this week for The South Wales Evening Post include a beautiful debut full of magic and myth, a seafaring dog, a madcap alternative fairytale and a twisted thriller that will have your heart racing.  In the Weekend Magazine Section. Enjoy!


BOOK OF THE WEEK

CHILDRENS 11+
Isabella dreams of exploring The Forgotten Territories her father once mapped. Her opportunity comes when she must find her best friend Lupe with only an ancient map and the stars to guide. Monsters, myth and magic draw the reader into this modern day classic of friendship and sacrifice. An enchanting d├ębut in a gorgeously presented book peppered with maps and symbols that will enthral. For fans of Philip Pullman and Katherine Rundell. Spellbinding.
ISBN: 9781910002742 PB Chicken House Ltd £6.99
5/5 Stars



PICTUREBOOK 3+
Claude and Sir Bobblysock are swooshed away on a seafaring adventure, in their first picture book, when they accidentally leave the bath taps on! Children will love the colourful array of characters including Nigel the sea monster and Captain Poopdeck. With irreverent humour and engaging illustrations this is perfect to be read out loud and will appeal to anyone who wants to go on a secret escapade!
ISBN 9781444903676 HB Hodder Childrens Book £11.99
5/5 Stars



CHILDRENS 7+
Alfie Onion is off on an adventure with his big brother Magnifico but only as his servant! When things go awry Alfie must save the day helped by some delightfully impudent animals including a talking horse. A new look at the traditional fairytale this is great for early readers with characterful illustrations throughout and short chapters. Endearing story touching on responsibility, family ties with lots of laughs in this mad cap adventure. More Shrek than Sleeping Beauty.
ISBN: 9781406363104 PB  Walker Books Ltd £ 5.99
4/5 Stars




CHILDRENS 13+
Yael is a shape shifting resistance fighter in this alternative historical thriller imaging if Hitler had won the war. In disguise she competes in an epic motor bike race to reek revenge and kill the Fuhrer. High tension, epic adventure and a very feisty heroine this would suite fans of the Hunger Games and X-Men to All The Light We Cannot See. Fascinating and disturbing this is perfect fodder for any book group.
ISBN 9781780622033 PB  Hachette Books £7.99
5/5 Stars



Hive.co.uk works hand in hand with independendent bookshops to bring you books, DVDs and ebooks. Free delivery to your local bookshop or direct to your door. Shop local, shop independent.