Pages

Friday, 24 February 2017

South Wales Evening Post Childrens Book Review FEB 25-26


This week my pick of childrens books for The South Wales Evening Post include a contemporary behind the scenes romance, an introduction to insects and early learning, an inspiring book about women scientists who were trailblazers and an hilarious adventure featuring the Greek Gods.

My column can be found in the Weekend supplement of The South Wales Evening Post on Saturday and Sunday. Enjoy!


BOOK OF THE WEEK

UNCONVENTIONAL BY MAGGIE HARCOURT
YOUNG ADULT 13+
Lexi helps her Dad organise events and fan conventions. But when a cute author tumbles into her life he manages to upset her carefully organised plans. There's also the small matter of her Dad's remarriage to contend with. A really funny insight behind the scenes and its eye opening demands. This is an entertaining tale of errors and misunderstandings that borders on a French farce. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins.
ISBN 9781409590156 PB Usborne Young Adult £7.99




FOLLOW THE TRAIL: MINI BEASTS
PICTUREBOOK 2+
Preschoolers will delight in following the different insects using their fingers along the textured trails. This multi sensory book allows the children to peek through the holes at butterflies, ladybirds, bees and dragonflies while learning about shapes, matching and sorting. The mix of photography and illustrations keeps the visuals crisp and clear. Other subjects in this sturdy board book series include trucks, animals, the farm and dinosaurs. Great fun for early learners.
ISBN 9780241275948 HB Dorling Kindersley £6.99




WOMEN IN SCIENCE BY RACHEL IGNOTOFSKY
CHILDREN 7+
A wonderful celebration of pioneering female scientists covering fields from science, technology, engineering and maths. Included amongst these trailblazing women are physicist Marie Curie and the lesser known British palaeontologist, Mary Anning. It is truly inspiring to read stories about such a determined group of women from all different nationalities, backgrounds and social classes. Proof no matter what the obstacle, if you are determined enough you can achieve great things.
ISBN 9781526360519 HB Wren & Rook £12.99





WHO LET THE GODS OUT? BY MAZ EVANS
CHILDRENS 9+
Elliot's Mum is ill and they could also lose their home. As if life couldn't get an worse a young Zodiac goddess crashes into Elliot's life and they both accidentally release a wicked daemon. Will the Olympian Gods help them or have they become too comfortable in the modern world? An absolutely hilarious romp infused with mythology and fast paced adventure that will appeal to children and adults. Perfect for Percy Jackson and David Walliams fans.
ISBN 9781910655412 PB Chicken House £6.99