Pages

Friday, 31 March 2017

CHILDRENS BOOK REVIEW SOUTH WALES EVENING POST APRIL 1-2

This week my pick of children's books for The South Wales Evening Post include a friendly but shy giant, the return of the Care Bears, a young boy saving the world from alien invasion and two teenagers determined to find their own way in the world.

My column can be found in the Weekend supplement of The South Wales Evening Post on Saturday and Sunday. Enjoy!

BOOK OF THE WEEK



GRANDAD'S SECRET GIANT BY DAVID LITCHFIELD

PICTURE BOOK 3+

Billy doesn't' believe his Grandad's stories about a benevolent secret giant who lives in his town. When Billy meets him one night he is afraid, but should he be? The evocative illustrations are rich with detail that children can pour over and explore. In this contemporary fable Billy finds out different can also be good and empowering. This enchanting tale of friendship, belonging and acceptance would make a wonderful gift to treasure.

ISBN 978847808479 HB Frances Lincoln £11.99

HEARTS 'N' HUGS STICKER ACTIVITY BOOK BY CARE BEARS

ACTIVITY BOOK 3+

I was so excited to see the return of the Care Bears! Join Cheer Bear, Grumpy Bear and the rest of the Care Bear Friends for hours of games, puzzles, colouring and over one hundred stickers. Celebrating their thirty fifth anniversary spreading the message for caring and sharing. Also accompanying this great activity book is a series of storybooks including Cheer Bear and The Treasure Hunt. Still adorably cute!

ISBN 9781444931471 PB Hodder Childrens £4.99





HAMISH AND THE GRAVITY BURP BY DANNY WALLACE, ILLUSTRATED BY JAMIE LITTLER

CHILDRENS 8+

When Hamish finds his Mum and brother floating on the ceiling he knows something is seriously wrong. Also what is that strange burping noise? Why are weird seeds falling from the sky? The cast of family and friends are relatable and endearing for both adults and children. Channelling Walliams and Dahl, the story moves at a bristling pace and is full of irreverent humour. This will be gobbled up by Hamish's growing army of fans.

ISBN 9781471147128 PB Simon & Schuster £6.99



AND THEN WE RAN BY KATY CANNON

YOUNG ADULT 13 +

Told from a dual perspective Megan and Elliot take us on a coming of age road trip from a Welsh seaside town to Gretna Green. Do they really want to get married or just escape? Both learn life itself is a journey that can throw up unexpected surprises. A contemporary romance about learning to make the right choices and following your dreams. Perfect holiday reading for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han
ISBN 9781847157997 PB Stripes £7.99

See also my interview with author Katy Cannon