Pages

Friday, 17 March 2017

CHILDRENS BOOK COLUMN SOUTH WALES EVENING POST MARCH 18-19

This week my pick of children's books for The South Wales Evening Post include an adventure with an elephant, a retelling of Beauty and The Beast, a very ladylike murder mystery and an hilarious teen romance.


My column can be found in the Weekend supplement of The South Wales Evening Post on Saturday and Sunday. Enjoy!


BOOK OF THE WEEK


THE ELEPHANT THIEF BY JANE KERR
CHILDREN 9+
When pickpocket Danny accidentally bids for Maharajah, the elephant at auction he's caught up in an unforgettable journey. Transformed into a bejewelled Indian prince Danny rides Maharajah from Scotland to his new home in England. Will a rival zoo keeper stop them and will Danny's dangerous past catch up with them both? A gripping historical adventure of an unlikely friendship between boy and elephant, based on true life events. A beautifully written future classic.
ISBN 9781910655757 PB Chicken House £6.99






BEAUTY AND THE BEAST BY ANNA MILBOURNE
PICTURE BOOK 3+
Celebrating the film release, this is a beautiful retelling of the classic fairytale. As well as the colourfully detailed illustrations by Lorena Alvarez it is also packed with enchanting surprises with intricate cut outs to look through and flaps to lift. Little children will love following Belle through the Beast's house until she discovers him hiding in the garden . Also available in the series is Cinderella and Little Red Riding Hood. A gift to treasure.
ISBN 9781474920544 HB Usborne £9.99




BLACK CATS AND BUTLERS BY JANINE BEACHAM
CHILDREN 9+
Born into the aristocracy Rosie is a young lady with a penchant for finding distinctly unladylike trouble. When her adored butler is murdered Rosie is determined to defy convention and find out who did it. Can she solve this wicked crime while successfully steering her way through the rules of proper etiquette? Grave robbers, magicians and ancient feline guardians will keep young readers gripped. Nancy Drew meets Downton Abbey. A rollicking adventure.
ISBN 9781510201286 PB Little, Brown Books £6.99




BOYWATCHING SEASON THREE BY CHLOE BENNET
YOUNG ADULT 12+
Hilarious conclusion to this contemporary trilogy. Broken hearts, broken promises and broken toes abound! Chloe is left with her boyfriends handsome but awkward cousin Oscar while he leaves her to go on a French exchange. Can she transform him into a smooth operator? Laugh out loud at the teenage angst that everyone can relate to. Pretty in Pink meets Ten Things I Hate About You, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han
ISBN 9781408345122 PB Orchard Books £7.99