Pages

Tuesday, 20 December 2016

My Christmas Top Pick of Childrens Books for Early Readers for 2016

My Top Selection of Books perfect for Christmas for early readers




LITTLE GREY RABBIT'S CHRISTMAS BY ALISON UTTLEY
CHILDRENS 6+
First published in 1929 this new edition will continue to capture the hearts of children. The woodland animals are preparing for Christmas but when a special gift is lost in the snow can they find it? Magical illustrations by Margaret Tempest will delight anyone who's a fan of Beatrix Potter bringing to life the charming festive story. A talking snowball, tobogganing by moonlight and a magical Christmas tree makes a perfect bedtime story for the holidays.

ISBN 9781783706723 HB Templar Publishing £5.99





THE CAT WHO ATE CHRISTMAS BY LIL CHASE AND THOMAS DOCHERTY
CHILDREN 5+
This hilarious little tale will resonate with anyone who has had a kitten for Christmas. Inspired by real life experience Jingles the kitten is very naughty. He knocks over the Christmas tree, shreds the presents and then there's a very juicy turkey to tempt him. The family are so cross he runs away. Can they find him? A special section is filled with Christmas facts, jokes and activities perfect for giving as a gift. 
ISBN 9781510200821 PB L B Kids £5.99





DAVE PIGEON BY SWAPNA HADDOW
CHILDRENS 5+
Dave and his sidekick Skipper are two pigeons on a quest to defeat the most evil cat in town. Told in first person and punctured with hilarious cartoon like illustrations from the talented Sheena Dempsey the two squabbling birds tell the story of their adventures making it perfect for early readers. Children will love these two irreverent heroes but who will win Mean Cat or Dave Pigeon? You will have to learn Pigeonese to find out!
ISBN: 9780571323302 PB Faber & Faber £5.99



COLIN THE CART HORSE BY GAVIN PUCKETT
CHILDRENS 5+
An hilarious rhyming tale about a cart horse who's bored with his usual hay so decides to try out the other farm animals food with some rather explosive results! At first the farmer is delighted with Colin's 'super manure' but when it becomes rather toxic the army have to step in. Wonderful for reading out loud with funny illustrations that will have kids and adults roaring with laughter. A sure fire hit from this talented Welsh author.
ISBN 9780571315437 PB Faber & Faber £6.99


SOPHIE'S SQUEAKY SURPRISE BY HOLLY WEBB 
CHILDRENS 6+
This book is a little bundle of cuteness that deals with bigger issues. Sophie has moved to Paris and is being bullied in her new school. Then she meets Josephine, a new friend who happens to be a macaroon loving, tutu wearing guinea pig who lives under the Sacre Coeur!! A delightful adventure with characterful illustrations by Clare Elsom that will warm your heart. Perfect for beginner readers while exploring themes of moving house and making new friends.
ISBN 9781407154329 PB Scholastic £4.99




A PIGLET CALLED TRUFFLE BY HELEN PETERS
CHILDREN 6+
Jasmine secretly saves an unloved piglet from death but their growing bond is put under pressure when Truffle is discovered and her future questioned as a suitable pet. A terrible storm allows Truffle to return the favour and maybe even save her own bacon! Accompanied by the charming illustrations of Swansea born illustrator Ellie Snowdon this warm and authentic story about life on the farm has huge appeal for Dick King-Smith fans and animal lovers alike. 
ISBN 9780857637734 PB Nosy Crow £6.99



CAPTAIN PUG BY LAURA JAMES
CHILDRENS 5+
Adventures of a pug trying to be brave and find his owner, Lady Miranda. Deciding the best way is to become a Captain of a ship he boards many different vessels while trying to overcome his fear of water and indulging in his passion for jam tarts!! A delightful sea faring adventure series for young readers that is charming, funny and a stand-out debut. Perfect for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff
ISBN: 9781408866368 PB Bloomsbury Publishing £5.99