Pages

Friday, 23 December 2016

My Pick of Middle Grade Childrens Books from 2016

My Pick of Middle Grade Fiction Books from 2016


A DOG'S LIFE BY ANN M. MARTIN
CHILDRENS 9+
A heart warming tale of the life of a stray dog told from her perspective. We follow Squirrel from abandoned puppy into adulthood, her friends and foes, loves and losses, until she finds a place she can call home. Its an emotional rollercoaster and I defy anyone not to fall in love with this brave and steadfast little mutt. Perfect for dog lovers and highlights why a dog is for life not just for Christmas.
ISBN 9781474906470 PB Usborne £6.99



THE GREAT CHOCOPLOT BY CHRIS CALLAGHAN
CHILDRENS 8+
The chocopocalypse has arrived and soon there will be no chocolate in the world! Following a trail of clues will Jelly and her Gran uncover a fiendish plot that could deprive the nation of their favourite treat and avert disaster? Or will the villain, Garibaldi leave them with a bitter taste in the mouth? This wonderful Roald Dahlian adventure presents an assortment box of hilarious and eccentric characters that will be devoured by little chocolate lovers everywhere. 
ISBN 9781910002513 PB Chicken House £6.99

ROBYNSILVER AND THE MIDNIGHT CHIMES BY PAULA HARRISON
CHILDRENS 8+
When ten year old Robyn starts seeing scary creatures no one else can see she discovers she has special monster hunting powers. But can Robyn save her little sister from their clutches? This feisty heroine combined with her relateable family dynamic and endearing friends, plus the charming illustrations at the beginning of each chapter, really makes for a fun and exciting read. Reminiscent of a young Buffy the Vampire Slayer for a new, younger generation. 
ISBN 9781407170589 PB Scholastic £6.99

THE ROAD TO EVER AFTER BY MOIRA YOUNG
CHILDREN 10+
A surprisingly moving and humorous tale of an orphaned, homeless boy called Davy who likes drawing angels. When he meets Miss Flint, an elderly lady going home to die, he finds a true kindred spirit. A mix of 'It's a Wonderful Life' and 'Benjamin Button', this extraordinary adventure will make you laugh and cry. Visually arresting prose and empathetic observations. Life is about those moments that take your breath away and this certainly took mine. A classic.
ISBN 9781509832583 HB Macmillans Childrens Books £9.99




MURDER IN MIDWINTER BY FLEUR HITCHCOCK
CHILDRENS 9+

When Maya becomes a witness to a violent crime she has to hide in rural Wales until the police have caught the perpetrator. Trapped in the farm in a snow storm is she still safe or has she been discovered? A nail biting crime novel for middle grade readers and an exciting introduction for this genre. This atmospheric thriller will keep you guessing to the end, perfect to curl up with on a winters night.
ISBN 9780857636386 PB Nosy Crow £6.99



THE SECRET HORSES OF BRIAR HILL BY MEGAN SHEPHERD
CHILDRENS 8+
When Emmaline, alone and traumatised, is evacuated to a countryside hospital during World War II she discovers a secret. There are winged horses living beyond the mirrors and only she can protect them. Reminiscent of C.S. Lewis's Narnia and Michael Morpurgo books it explores friendship, love and loss. Wonderfully illustrated by Levi Pinfold his atmospheric paintings of horses and war time life will captivate history, art and animal lovers alike and make a wonderful gift. 
ISBN 9781406367584 HB Walker Books £12.99




OVER THE LINE BY TOM PALMER
CHILDRENS 9+
Jack is about to live his dream as a pro footballer but its 1914 and soon is heading to the front line. This movingly true story of the Footballers Battalion paints a vivid picture of life in the trenches including the filth, the rats and loss. It also tells of courage, friendship and honor. A gripping read for those interested in history and football as well as reluctant readers. There are also teacher resources for class discussion to accompany.
ISBN 9781781125861 PB Barrington Stoke £6.99 





THERE MAY BE A CASTLE BY PIERS TORDAY
CHILDRENS 9+

It's Christmas Eve and Mouse, an eleven year old boy, and his family are involved in a car accident in the middle of nowhere. Only Mouse can help but to do so he must enter a magical world and fulfil a quest. A whimsical adventure that straddles fantasy and reality full of knights, monsters and a sheep called Bar. A tale of bravery, loss and life and ultimately hope with a touch of Dahl and Lewis Carroll.
ISBN 9781848668621 HB Quercus £12.99




THE NOWHERE EMPORIUM BY ROSS MACKENZIE
CHILDRENS 9+
A magical adventure that is sure to weave its spell over you. Daniel, an orphan, only wants to hide in the Emporium but it seems the shop needs his help. He becomes an apprentice to a magician, discovers enchanted rooms, makes friends, travels through time and comes face to face with evil personified. The worthy winner of The Blue Peter Book Awards amongst others this will really inspire the imagination of all ages. Perfect for Harry Potter fans.
ISBN: 9781782501251 PB Floris Books £6.99



PERIJEE AND ME BY ROSS MONTGOMERY
CHILDRENS 9+
A sci fi fantasy that is as poignant as it is funny. Caitlin's only friend happens to be an alien. But he's growing too big to hide and is a danger to himself and others. Can she save her friend while her family falls apart? Full of adventure, laughter and sure to make bobble hats the new must have! With a nod to Iron Man by Ted Hughes this is a story about bravery, friendship and family.
ISBN: 9780571317950 PB Faber & Faber £6.99




    RAYMIE NIGHTINGALE BY KATE DICAMILLO
CHILDRENS 9+
A moving story about friendship, family and the ties that bind. Three girls meet during a baton twirling contest and form an unlikely bond. Loosely based on the authors life in a small American town this is a heart warming tale of a child’s innocent view of an adult world. In the unlikeliest of circumstances including errant fathers, lost cats and narrow escapes they find hope, courage and humour in the face of tragedy. A delight. 
ISBN: 9781406363135 HB Walker Books Ltd £9.99





CHILDRENS 11+
Isabella dreams of exploring The Forgotten Territories her father once mapped. Her opportunity comes when she must find her best friend Lupe with only an ancient map and the stars to guide. Monsters, myth and magic draw the reader into this modern day classic of friendship and sacrifice. An enchanting d├ębut in a gorgeously presented book peppered with maps and symbols that will enthral. For fans of Philip Pullman and Katherine Rundell. Spellbinding.

ISBN: 9781910002742 PB Chicken House Ltd £6.99




THE APPRENTICE WITCH BY JAMES NICOL
CHILDRENS 8+

An exciting debut novel following the adventures of fifteen year old Arianwyn, an apprentice witch who has failed her witch assessment. Sent to a supposedly quiet town Arianwyn starts to find her true powers and make new friends. From overcoming her arch rival to fighting terrifying monsters and demons this enchanting tale tackles self esteem issues and overcoming adversity. A spell binding start to an magical new series perfect for the holidays.
ISBN 9781910655153 PB Chicken House £6.99