Pages

Friday, 23 December 2016

A LIST OF MY FAVOURITE PICTURE BOOKS FROM 2016

Some of my favourite Picture Books from 2016. Its a very eclectic mix so there is something for everyone!




TIGER IN A TUTU BY FABI SANTIAGO
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A striking picture book about a tiger who aspires to be a ballet dancer in Paris. Against all the odds he follows his dream and with a little help from his new friend finally performs in a proper theatre. The bold limited palette really captures the French capital and the twilight world of theatre life. Enchanting and inspiring with the lovely sentiment that nothing is impossible this is the perfect present for little dancers everywhere.
ISBN: 9781408336885 HB Orchard Books £11.99


WE FOUND A HAT BY JON KLASSEN
PICTURE BOOK 3+
Two turtles find a hat in the desert. It looks good on both of them but which one should have it? A finely observed tale of friendship, sharing and generosity of spirit. Their shifting eyes say so much with so little you really feel the turtles emotions as one fights his need for the hat. A visual comedy in three parts will amuse with its deadpan humour. Really heart warming finale to the acclaimed hat trilogy. Quietly profound and very special. 
ISBN 9781406347517 HB Walker Books £12.99




FINDING WINNIE BY LINDSAY MATTICK
PICTURE BOOK 4+
The real life story and inspiration of Winnie the Pooh. When soldier and vet Harry finds a real bear cub at a station in 1914 he decides to keep her and takes her to war where she becomes a much loved mascot. This delightful story, charmingly illustrated by Sophie Blackall, describes their wonderful relationship and later how Christopher Robin met Winnie in London Zoo. It is made especially poignant with photos of the 'real Winnie' at the end. 
ISBN 9781408340240 PB Orchard Books £5.99






SNAIL MAIL BY SHARON KING-CHAI
PICTURE BOOK 4+
Sam the Sea Snail's big brother Tiger sends him exciting postcards from around the world. Bright colourful illustrations with gorgeous pull out postcards to pour over you can learn about Tigers' adventures as well as how to say hello in new languages like Japanese. There's even a birthday surprise at the end. Styled to be the new Jolly Postman for this generation you can have fun encouraging children to write and decorate their own postcards! 
ISBN 9781444922547 HB Hodder Childrens £12.99





PICTURE BOOK 3+
Leo's parents want him to be a proper knight fighting dragons but really he just wants to read! Can Leo show them the book is mightier than the sword? Taming monsters along the way this is a wonderful advocate for the joys of reading together and the power of stories. Another modern classic from best selling husband and wife team (who happen to live in Swansea!) with stunning illustrations and witty rhyming text.
ISBN 9781407163482 PB Scholastic £6.99


LEAFY THE PET LEAF BY PHILIP ARDAGH & ELISSA ELWICK 
PICTURE BOOK 5+
Join the Little Adventurers whose mandate includes being brave, being kind to animals and looking after the planet. It's Bring In A Pet Day so Sprat brings Leafy! But can a leaf really be a pet? With its green message, animal facts and activity ideas for playing outside it will inspire the imagination and creativity. This eclectic mix of characters will have wide appeal and after reading kids can have fun making their own pet leaf.
ISBN 9781406364354 PB Walker Books £6.99





THE LONELY GIANT BY SOPHIE AMBROSE
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A beautiful modern day fable about conserving the environment, friendship and freedom. A giant loves to destroy all that is around him but when he's left alone with no home or friends he realises his terrible mistake and is determined to rectify it. Lovingly told with winsome illustrations this will charm any child whilst teaching them to value and respect the natural world and its inhabitants. Friendship is given freely and cannot be forced.
ISBN: 9781406361544 HB Walker Books Ltd £11.99




THE LION INSIDE BY RACHEL BRIGHT & JIM FIELD
PICTURE BOOK 3+
Mouse is fed up being ignored. Just because he is small and meek doesn't mean he is invisible. Is he brave enough to ask for help from the king of the jungle? It seems however that even the strongest of us have some weaknesses as well. A thoroughly entertaining story with a positive message about overcoming your fears. Also makes a great bedtime story for fans of the Gruffalo. 

  • ISBN: 9781408331606 PB Hachette Childrens Group £6.99




I AM BEAR BY BEN BAILEY SMITH AND SAV AKYUZ
PICTURE BOOK 3+
This wildly funny Bear will have you in stitches with his purple fur suit and talent for finding trouble wherever he is. Bear is seriously naughty, from stealing honey and doughnuts to playing fiendish tricks just for kicks. Great for reading aloud with punchy bold illustrations that really add to the jokes. This will be a sure fire hit with little rebels and wannabe rappers alike.
ISBN: 9781406359251 HB Walker Books £11.99 Out in PB 5/1/16



AUGUSTUS AND HIS SMILE BY CATHERINE RAYNER
PICTURE BOOK 3+
This classic celebrates its ten year anniversary with a glorious gold foiled hardback in association with The David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation. Augusts has lost his smile. He climbs the highest mountains and dives into the deepest oceans to find it. A sensitive portrayal of when someone is feeling sad and how to lift your mood. Stunning illustrations in rich jewelled watercolours and black ink captures the magnificence of the tiger. 
ISBN: 9781848692329 HB Little Tiger Press Group £10.99



I LOVE YOU MORE AND MORE BY NICKY BENSON & ILLUSTRATED BY JONNY LAMBERT
PICTURE BOOK 2+
A gorgeously illustrated celebration of the eternal love and bond between a parent and child. Simple lyrical rhyming text set in a twilight world as a bear takes his cub on a journey of discovery through dense woodland, blue mountains and sparkling rivers. This makes a beautiful gift for the very young or new parent. Ideal for fans of Guess How Much I Love You.
ISBN:9781848692114 HB Little Tiger Press £10.99 OUT NOW IN PB


THE DETECTIVE DOG BY JULIA DONALDSON AND SARA OGILVIE
CHILDRENS 4+
Peter's dog Nell has an amazing sense of smell so when school books disappear she's on the case. A topical subject this is a wonderful celebration of reading and libraries. A fast paced adventure from the UK’s most beloved author showing off her trade mark rhyming story telling to perfection. Nell's detective work is joyfully captured in Sara Ogilvie's adorable illustrations. A reminder of how inspirational books can be and the importance of free access to them. 
ISBN:9781509801596 HB Pan Macmillan £11.99


THE COLOUR MONSTER BY ANNA LLENAS
PICTURE BOOK 3+

A stunning picture book that explores colour and moods in a fun and gentle way. The colour monster doesn’t know if he is happy, sad, calm, angry or scared. To help understand the difference his friend shows him through colour. With sensitively accessible collage style illustrations this will help children share and explore their feelings and also show a way to manage them. A pop up and colour activity book are also available in this delightful series.

ISBN 9781783704231 PB Templar Publishing £6.99



KINGS OF THE CASTLE BY VICTORIA TURNBULL
PICTURE BOOK 3+
An ethereal picture book of adventure, imagination and friendship. When George meets the strangest creature he's ever seen the night takes an unusual turn. With a gorgeous pull out of an enormous sandcastle this will enchant little ones and inspire sand castles par excellence. However different we are we can always find common ground and mutual interests as well as learn from one another. Through acceptance and discovery we are open to knew and wonderful experiences. 
ISBN 9781783702596 PB Templar Publishing £6.99