Pages

Friday, 23 December 2016

A List of Wonderfully Educational and Activity Childrens Books from 2016 to inspire

There have been some fascinating and wonderful educational and activity books this year for all ages. Here are just a few starting with books for the youngest then up to young adult. From animal to insects, learning about different types of people and the world in general this will open up the eyes of children to the amazing diversity we experience around us. 




BEE BY PATRICIA HEGARTY & BRITTA TECKENTRUP
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A thought provoking book celebrating the importance of the bumble bee. This stunning book raises awareness of their plight inspiring our future generations to learn about their journey, gathering nectar and spreading life. The pages of this vibrant peep through book opens up into a bouquet of brilliance that will entrance as you follow them from flower to flower. It s a love poem to this BEEautiful and much needed little striped powerhouse.
ISBN 9781848692886 HB Little Tiger Press £10.99




A FIRST BOOK OF ANIMALS BY NICOLA DAVIES AND PETRA HORACEK
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A celebration of the amazing and enormous variety in the animal kingdom. This sumptuous volume brings to life its true wonders through the lyrical text of Nicola Davies and atmospheric illustrations of Petra Horacek. From the whale shark to the tiny hummingbird, the speeding cheetah to the languorous sloth this is an absolute delight for little animal lovers. A book to treasure and inspire a new generation to hopefully protect and conserve these amazing creatures. 

ISBN 9781406359633 HB Walker Books £14.99



ISAAC AND HIS AMAZING ASPERGER SUPERPOWERS! BY MELANIE WALSH
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A great introduction to explaining Aspergers to very young children. Isaac feels he has superhero strengths and he shows us how he's sees the world in a different way. The story makes the subject more accessible and encourages readers to have a greater understanding. The superhero guise makes the uninformed appreciate the strengths and the struggles of those who have this condition. Great for teachers as well.

ISBN: 9781406344455 HB Walker Books Ltd £11.99









PERFECT BY NICOLA DAVIES
PICTURE BOOK 4+
The story of a young boy learning to accept his baby sister as being perfect in every way in spite of her disability. Perfect is an ideal way to open up the subject of disability with children, as well being a great story in its own 
right. Beautifully illustrated by Cathy Fisher using birds as a tool to symbolise his feelings this is a story of anticipation, disappointment, acceptance and, ultimately, love. Thoughtful and insightful.


ISBN: 9781910862469 PB Graffeg £8.99



MY ENCYCLOPEDIA OF VERY IMPORTANT THINGS
CHILDRENS 4+
Inquisitive little learners always need a book of extremely useful facts for all those niggling questions about the world around them. Look no further because this will certainly take them on an educational journey of discovery through different cultures, people and places which will set young minds alight. Brimming with facts and figures alongside an array of photos and colour illustrations this is a brilliant addition to a child’s library. Supports the KS1 National Curriculum. 
ISBN 9780241224939 HB Dorling Kindersley £14.99




SLOT TOGETHER THEATRE BY ANNA MILBOURNE
CHILDREN 6+ 
A chance for children and adults to be inspired by two classic Christmas shows. Including scenes, characters and a book of clear instructions you can put together a theatre and tell the story of the Nutcracker Ballet and Shakespeare's Midsummer Nights Dream with music. Simply slot the sturdy pieces together and the step by step guide with script and cast will be perfect for budding thespians and dancers to put on some great entertainment for the family.
ISBN 9781474916172 HB Usborne £25



HIGHEST MOUNTAIN DEEPEST OCEAN BY PAGE TSOU
CHILDRENS BOOK 6+
A visual feast of a compendium that will open your eyes to the extraordinary world we live in. Do you know which is the longest living animal? The oldest tree? The biggest storm? Discover all the answers in this fascinating large format book of visual comparisons with beautifully detailed illustrations that have a vintage and contemporary flavour. For fans of Animalium, Maps and future David Attenboroughs! Indulge your curiosity. 
ISBN 9781783704842 HB Big Picture Press £14.99




THE CURIOUS GUIDE TO THINGS THAT AREN'T BY JOHN D. FIXX & JAMES F. FIXX
CHILDRENS 7+
Thought provoking riddles about a range of things you can't see, touch or hear and yet they still exist. Can you guess what they are? There is one riddle for every letter of the alphabet so you will have enormous fun trying gthe class room as well as a great stocking filler.
ISBN 9781633221765 HB Walter Foster JR £8.99



ATLAS OF ODDITIES BY CLIVE GIFFORD
CHILDREN 7+
A beautiful gift atlas full of brilliantly bizarre facts and figures of the natural and not so natural world we live in. Did you know in Ninotaria, Japan you can bath in a giant pool of red wine, green tea, coffee or noodle soup! Wales is also included with mentions of Port Talbot’s Baked Beans Museum and Llanwrtyd Well’s World Bog Snorkelling Championship! Accompanied by Tracy Worrall's bold punchy illustrations this will entertain and inform the whole family. 
ISBN 9781405281362 HB Egmont UK £16.99





ROALD DAHL SCRIBBLE BOOK BY ROALD DAHL 
CHILDREN 7+
Celebrate the centenary of one of our greatest children’s authors with this creative book inspired by the wonderful world of Roald Dahl. 'Squibble' and colour your way through the fun activities featuring his most famous characters including the BFG, Willy Wonka and my favourite, Matilda. Draw your own Chocolate Factory or design a fantastic home for Mr Fox! Illustrations by the irrepressible Quentin Blake means this 'whoopsy whiffling' book will inspire hours of 'phizz-whizzing' fun.
ISBN 9780141368245 PB Penguin £6.99


THE USBORNE OUTDOOR BOOK BY ALICE JAMES AND EMILY BONE, ILLUSTRATED BY BRIONY MAY SMITH
CHILDRENS 6+

This brilliant book is a perfect way to encourage children to play outdoors whether it be in the park, garden, seashore or woods. A shocking poll revealed 37% of kids have not played outside by themselves in the last 6 months. This sumptuously illustrated book is a great way to change that and provides loads of inspiration from beach games, bird watching to building a shelter. Its packed full of exciting activities you hadn't even thought of!

ISBN 9781409599104 HB Usborne Publishing £9.99






UNDER EARTH, UNDER WATER BY ALEKSANDRA & DANIEL MIZIELINSKI 
CHILDRENS 7+
A two in one epic book that takes us exploring under the earth and water. Under the earth you'll meet cavers, miners, discover fossils as well as burrows and dens. Under water you'll meet record breaking divers, giants of the sea as well as submarines and shipwrecks. Hugely detailed and overflowing with illustrations this is a fantastic present for any little explorer and scientist. A treasure that parents will also enjoy.
 ISBN 9781783703647 HB Templar Books £20





HERE I STAND BY AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL UK 
YOUNG ADULT 12+
In partnership with Amnesty International twenty five leading authors and illustrators including Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell unite to explore human rights in today’s society. A collection of powerful hard hitting stories that look at issues such as gender equality, race hatred, immigration and freedom of speech amongst other issues. This is a great book for igniting debate, encouraging empathy and raising questions especially in the classroom. A must for every school library. 
ISBN 9781406358384 HB Walker Books £10.99