Saturday, 4 April 2020

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW April 4-5 2020

This week my children's book reviews include a magical venetian middle grade adventure, two fascinating non fiction books for budding eco warriors and and an inspiring historical coming-of-age drama.



BOOK OF THE WEEK

THE MASK OF ARIBELLA BY ANNA HOGHTON
CHILDREN 9+
Aribella lives in Renaissance Venice, the daughter of a lace-maker. When Aribella discovers that her anger makes flames shoot from her fingertips she runs away. Saved by the Cannovacci, magical masked warriors they enlist Aribella's help to defend Venice against a growing evil. This stunning, atmospheric debut with a strong, rebellious heroine at its heart will enchant and enthral children looking for escapism. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter and The Thief Lord.
PB Chicken House £6.99



CLIMATE REBELS BY BEN LERWILL
CHILDREN 7+
An inspiring collection of 25 true life stories of people who are helping the planet. From Greta Thunberg and David Attenborough to lesser-known heroes such as the founders of Greenpeace and poacher patrollers The Black Mambas, they all prove one person can make a difference. This is a powerful and hopeful reminder that we can all help the planet. Each personable and anecdotal chapter is accompanied by luscious illustrations which will ignite children's curiousity.
Puffin HB £12.99


PLANET SOS BY MARIE G. ROHDE
CHILDREN 8+
Our planet is sending out an SOS. From the Ozone Serpent to Trash Kong, these real-life environmental monsters are threatening our world. Now you can challenge them! A clever and humorous handbook that shows young eco-warriors how they can help the earth. Each 'monster' has it's own card so children can learn about what they 'feed' on and how to vanquish them. An ingenious idea which will provide hours of informative fun.
What On Earth Books HB £14.99



THE AUSTEN GIRLS BY LUCY WORSLEY
CHILDREN 12+
Anna and Fanny are cousins who must find suitors amongst the competition in the ball season. Can their unmarried Aunt, Jane Austen help them retain their sense and sensibility? Or will the girls pride and prejudices scupper their ambitions? Can they become heroines of their own story? This witty historical coming-of-age drama is a fascinating and entertaining insight into the role of women in the Georgian era. For fans of Eva Ibbotson's historical novels.
Bloomsbury PB £7.99


1 comment:

  1. a picture is worth a thousand words. Your book is very attractive and getting a few reviews on https://honestbookreview.com/ can really take your book to the next level.

    ReplyDelete