Friday, 17 January 2020

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW JAN 18-19 2020

This week my children's book reviews include two epic fantasies for teens, a beautiful picture book about the price of freedom and a fascinating middle grade book full of strange but true football stories. 


Perfect books for the New Year!


Also in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!



BOOK OF THE WEEK 

A THRONE OF SWANS BY KATHARINE & ELIZABETH CORR
YOUNG ADULT 12+
Seventeen-year-old Aderly inherits a kingdom ruled by those who can transform into a bird and fly. Aderly is a swan who since witnessing her mothers murder can no longer take flight. Can she save the kingdom from her cruel uncle? Who can she trust? An intriguing fantasy richly woven with magic and a duplicitous cast, a flawed but courageous heroine and an unexpected twist. For fans of Leigh Bardugo and Melinda Salisbury.
Hot Key Books PB £7.99



STARBIRD BY SHARON KING-CHAI
PICTURE BOOK 3+
The Moon King gifts his daughter the legendary Starbird. But one day it stops singing. When his daughter notices how sad the caged bird is she sets it free. The King is furious. Can he understand the price of freedom? A stunning book with foiled pages. Children will be entranced by the twilight images and looking for the Starbird within the silhouettes. A beautiful original folk story about love and freedom that would make a stunning and sensitive gift.
Two Hoots HB £12.99



UNBELIEVABLE FOOTBALL BY MATT OLDFIELD
CHILDREN 8+
A collection of entertaining and fascinating stories about the beautiful game. Have you heard of the psychic octopus who could predict the winner? The Lancashire Lasses who became footballs best-kept secret? The dog detective who saved the world cup trophy? The world-class manager who survived a war? The perfect gift for football-mad kids. The short accessible stories are perfect to dip into and share with friends and family.
Wren & Rook PB £6.99



A HEART SO FIERCE AND BROKEN BY BRIGID KEMMERER
YOUNG ADULT 12+
Harper has freed Prince Rhen from a curse but a rival heir lies in wait. Grey the prince's best friend has fled the castle with a terrible secret. Who will betray whom? Told from alternating points of view this fantasy sequel brims with excitement, devious plots and bold new characters that will sink its claws into you. An exciting new spin on a tale as old as time which forges its own path. A must for fantasy lovers.
Bloomsbury PB £7.99




2 comments:

  1. In this world of constant competition, it is difficult to survive as a self-pub author. Every detail matters and getting reviews is a big part of my marketing strategy. I ordered a few reviews from https://100freekindlereviews.com to get more visibility and sales this Christmas season..

    ReplyDelete
  2. My Name is Steve Jones from Canada, i turn to a vampire any time i want to, I become a real vampire because of how people treat me, This world is a wicked world and not fair to any body. At the snack of my finger things are made happened. Am now a powerful vampire and no one step on me without an apology goes free. I turn to human being also at any time i want to. And am one of the most dreaded and respected person in my country. i am now also very famous and rich with the help of the VAMPIRES EMPIRE. i get what ever a want. i become a vampire through the help of my friend who introduce me into a vampire Kingdom by given me their email: jamessuccessfultemple45@gmail.com, if you want to become a powerful and a real vampire kindly contact the vampire kingdom on their email: jamessuccessfultemple45@gmail.com for help. it is real. Contact them today. jamessuccessfultemple45@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete