Pages

Friday, 28 February 2020

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW FEB 29-MARCH 1 2020

This week my children's book reviews include a brilliant ecological adventure series, a magnificent picture book about nature, a fascinating look at the Viking era and an epic fantasy for teens.  


Also in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!


BOOK OF THE WEEK

ECO RANGERS: WILDFIRE RESCUE BY CANDICE LEMON-SCOTT
CHILDREN 7+
Ebony and Jay are best friends and Eco Rangers who rescue and rehabilitate wildlife in need. After a devastating wildfire in the bushland, they rescue a cute possum with burnt paws. Children will be fascinated by all the nature and animal facts interspersed throughout the adventure. An exciting topical new series that sensitively explains the dangers of fire on the environment. Perfect for early readers and animal lovers and also to share in the classroom.
PB New Frontier Publishing £5.99


MY FRIEND EARTH BY PATRICIA MACLACHLAN & FRANCESCA SANNA
PICTURE BOOK 4+
A visually stunning and joyous celebration of our wondrous planet and all the marvels it contains. The poetic text lovingly shows just how good a friend Earth is to all of us. The spectacular illustrations are bursting with bold colours and die-cut pages inviting the young readers to explore the magical world within. Explore the different seasons, climates and the animals that live there. An enchanting delight from start to finish.
Chronicle Books HB £12.99



VIKING VOYAGERS BY JACK TITE
CHILDREN 8+
The Vikings have a fearsome reputation as bloodthirsty warriors but they also made many remarkable accomplishments highlighted in this magnificent book. Step back in time to find out what Viking life was like, how they travelled and traded and their rich mythology. The bold graphic illustrations showcase the Vikings in all their glory with engaging and informative text and large fold-out pages. A wonderful gift for history lovers and little warriors alike.
Big Picture Press HB £16.99



HAVENFALL BY SARA HOLLAND
YOUNG ADULT 12+
A sprawling epic fantasy about a safe haven between worlds and a girl sworn to protect it. Maddie must keep the peace between the realms when her friend is accused of murder. Before war breaks out can she discover the truth and the secret of her own identity? When everyone has a hidden agenda who can she trust? Breathless in scale and ambition this is perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black.
Bloomsbury PB £7.99
5/5 Stars

3 comments:

  1. In this world of constant competition, it is difficult to survive as a self-pub author. Every detail matters and getting reviews is a big part of my marketing strategy. I ordered a few reviews from https://100freekindlereviews.com to get more visibility and sales this Christmas season..

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have never seen anything that has worked so effective like Chief Dr Lucky spell that was able to bring my lover back to me within 48 hours. I run into luck on that beautiful day that i found Chief Dr Lucky contact details on an article that someone wrote about Chief Dr Lucky i had no choice that to contact and trust him. Chief Dr Lucky shocked me because i was not expecting to get a positive result as fast as that because the way my boyfriend left me was terrible, he lift me for my friend and i was told by Chief Dr Lucky that she used a black magic spell on him. Since the return of my lover i have made a promise that i will write out Chief Dr Luck on the internet and his contact details are +2348132777335 and via email: Chiefdrlucky@gmail.com . His website: http://chiefdrluckysolutionhome.website2.me/

    ReplyDelete
  3. what does it take to be a successful author? I would say that initial reviews and marketing definitely boost your book. I used https://usabookreviewers.com to get a few reviews and also promote my book. Hopping to be in the top 100 genre lists and see better sales this Christmas season…

    ReplyDelete