Friday, 6 April 2018

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW APRIL 7-8 TH

This week my children's book reviews include a contagiously funny adventure, a birthday cake in trouble, a weird family causing chaos and a young girl trying to save her farm in a wartime drama.

Some great books for the Easter holidays!


Also in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post.


Enjoy!


BOOK OF THE WEEK


ALICE DENT AND THE INCREDIBLE GERMS BY GWEN LOWE
CHILDREN'S 7+
Alice catches a cold but it's not the usual snotty virus, this has seriously weird side-effects. Alice can't stop giggling and is attracting an array of animals! When Best Minister for Everything Nicely Perfect tries to take her away, she realises her troubles have just begun. Packed with dastardly villains and wickedly sharp humour this is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams. Warning! This book is contagious, and the reader won't stop laughing!
ISBN 9781910002919 PB Chicken House £6.99


CAKE BY SUE HENDRA & PAUL LINNET
PICTURE BOOK 4+
Cake has been invited to a party and needs to look his best. A party always needs a cake after all! An hilarious and colourful story of Cake 's adventures and his mishaps. Children will love Cake's naivety as he unknowingly goes into danger. The bold candy coloured illustrations and simple mischievous text is the perfect compliment to the tension slowly building to a very sweet climax. A delicious treat that would make an ideal birthday gift.
ISBN 9781509827435 PB Macmillan £6.99


JUST PLAIN WEIRD BY KAYE UMANSKY
CHILDREN 7+
The Primms are an ultra-conservative family so when the Weirds move in next door, with their exploding experiments and daring stunts, life is never the same again. Divided into three stories with a wonderful wacky cast of characters this will appeal to early and reluctant readers. Delightfully illustrated by Chris Mould, this is full of zany laughter and fun, and the puzzles in the back are a nice finishing touch.
ISBN 9781781127919 PB Barrington Stoke £6.99



THE GOOSE ROAD BY ROWENA HOUSE
YOUNG ADULT 12+
In 1916, France, Angelique must try and save their farm until her brother's return from war. She sets off across the country to sell her treasured flock of Toulouse geese so they can cover their debts. A beautiful historical quest bursting with resilience and hope. This richly evocative tale deftly describes the consequences of the First World War and how it brings out the best and worse of people. For older fans of Emma Carroll and Michael Morpurgo.
ISBN 9781406371673 PB Walker Books £7.99


No comments:

Post a comment