Sunday, 11 August 2019

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW AUG 10-11

This week my children's book reviews include a feminist fairy-tale for teens, a picture book about the plight orangutans, a middle grade adventure about a princess who loves BMX and an intriqueing Young adult thriller set on the Welsh coast


Happy Summer Reading!



Also in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!



BOOK OF THE WEEK

THE KINGDOM BY JESS ROTHENBERG
YOUNG ADULT 12+
Android princess Ana lives in The Kingdom which makes visitors' wishes come true. But when she is accused of murder difficult questions must be ascertained. Did Ana override her program? Does she have free will? Told through court testimony and flashbacks this will keep the reader guessing until the end. An intriguing thriller and anti-fairytale with a cinematic feel and themes of sisterhood, objectification and how power can corrupt. Westworld meets One of Us is Lying.
Macmillan PB £7.99


THERE'S A RANG-TAN IN MY BEDROOM BY JAMES SELLICK & FRANN PRESTON-GANNON
CHILDREN 4+
When a little girl discovers a mischievous orangutan in her bedroom it shows her how growing palm oil for her products, such as shampoo are destroying her home. The moving illustrations and story show the plight of orangutans, the dangers of deforestation and what we can do to help. It includes how to write a campaign letter and why palm oil is so harmful to wildlife. This is a special picture book with a vital message to share.
Wren & Rook HB £12.99


PRINCESS BMX BY MARIE BASTING
CHILDREN 7+
Princess Ava travels between her magical kingdom and London to fulfil her passion for riding BMX. But can Ava use her new biking skills to save her home from her evil Aunty? Ava's hilarious adventure races along at breakneck speed while punctured with characterful illustrations by Flavia Sorrentino. Children will love Ava's cheeky humour and her courage to be true to herself. A modern fairy-tale which is full of magic, friendship and bikes! Enchanted meets BMX.
Chicken House PB £7.99


MY SECRET LIES WITH YOU BY FAYE BIRD
YOUNG ADULT 14+
A mysterious girl Alys appeared one summer only to vanish without a trace. This summer Cait arrives for a holiday in Wales mourning the loss of her father while dealing with her mother's new boyfriend. Told from four perspectives this is a classic whodunnit with a twist in the tale. Secrets and lies, friendships and family, love and loss are intertwined in this fast-paced thriller. A perfect summer read for fans of Pretty Little Lies and Riverdale.
Usborne PB £7.99

No comments:

Post a comment