Friday, 20 September 2019

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDREN'S BOOK REVIEW SEPT 21-22 2019

This week my children's book reviews include two books for little eco-warriors. Children can read about climate change and how to help the planet by reducing plastic. Also children can be star in their own picture book and for teens a cotemporary coming-of-age book dealing with different cultures. 



Also in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!



BOOK OF THE WEEK

ICE BY DK WITH FOREWORD BY GORDON BUCHANAN
CHILDREN 9+
Discover how animals, plants and humans survive in icy realms. This highly illustrated and fact-filled book invites young readers to learn more about the coldest places on earth and what is threatening them. Children will be captivated by the fight for survival of animals like the polar bear, penguins and reindeer. Brimming with fascinating facts and incredible photography it also examines the impact of climate change — a mesmerising and timely gift for nature lovers.
HB Dorling Kindersley £14.99



STAR IN YOUR OWN STORY: DRIVES A DIGGER BY DANIELLE MCLEAN & KATHRYN SELBERT
PICTURE BOOK 4+
When digger hits something hidden in the earth, the builders wonder what it could be? In this personalised book, you can add your child's name using the provided alphabet stickers. Children will love seeing their name appear on each page, becoming the star of the story. The bold and bright animal characters add to the fun. Part of a series which comes in large and small formats these make great presents to share and enjoy.
Little Tiger HB £12.99



PLASTIC SUCKS! BY DOUGIE POYNTER
CHILDREN 8+
An essential handbook for mini eco-warriors on how to join the fight against plastic waste. Packed with tips on reducing plastic plus a history of plastic and its pros and cons. It also introduces key campaigners and eco-entrepreneurs including Will Travers of Born Free and Amanda Keetley, the founder of Less Plastic UK. A great way to arm our future generation with the tools to help the planet and make a difference. Inspiring.




FRANKLY IN LOVE BY DAVID YOON
YOUNG ADULT 12+
Two Korean friends, Frank and Joy Song, try to balance family expectation with navigating high school. Trouble brews when they both fall for people outside of their culture and therefore deemed unacceptable to family. A modern romance that deals with identity, culture and oncoming adulthood. Teens will love the wit and wisdom and the diverse cast of characters. A thought-provoking insight into the difficulties of fitting in. For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Jenny Han.
PB Penguin £7.99

No comments:

Post a comment